Savanna, a PA who loves helping others

Here we are! This is interview n. 3 and today we meet Savanna from Augusta, Gerogia (USA). Before getting started, let’s refresh our memory: what is “Points of view”? It is our blog section where people from different countries are interviewed. Same questions, opposite answers. The purpose? Discovering how our culture can influence our dreams and priorities.

Savanna, a PA who loves helping others

Name: Savanna

Age: 26

Native Language: English

Country (and city) of origin: Augusta, Georgia (USA)

Describe it in one word: Southern

Country (and city) of residence: The same

 

Countries/cities you have visited

Jamaica, Bahamas, Mexico, Brazil, England, France, Amsterdam, Dominican Republic

 

Countries/cities you dream to visit

So many!  Costa Rica, Australia, Italy (super jealous my husband has been), South Africa, Canada, Hawaii, Alaska

 

The best place you have ever been?

I think Brazil was the best, even though I was in high school when I went.  We were able to visit a ton of different cities, and there’s so much culture.  Everyone was incredibly nice, and I still remember the food.  It was just so good!  If you ever get the chance to visit Brazil, make sure to go to Ouro Preto – it’s a small mining town with pretty gems at amazing prices.

 

What is your job/activity? Why did you choose it?

I’m a physician assistant (PA), and I work in Dermatology.  This means I see patients with skin concerns, figure out what is wrong, and come up with treatment plans.  I also get to do some cosmetic procedures too.  I really enjoy getting to help people and I love when a patient has seen improvement in their skin or when we can get rid of skin cancer.

 

What’s your biggest dream?

Oh man!  I think I come up with a new one almost every day.  This week, I’ve decided I want every golf course and park to have sunscreen dispensers to help prevent skin cancer.  Something a little less lofty would be just being a good wife, and hopefully one day a mother!

 

How do you spend your free time?

My husband is in medical school, so he’s super busy, but when we get to spend time together we love to try new restaurants and go to yard sales.

Savanna, un'assistente medico che ama occuparsi degli altri

I started a website in my free time to help connect PAs, and help students who want to become PAs.  It’s called The PA Platform and it’s been an adventure getting everything set up, but also a lot of fun!

 

What do you usually do on Saturday night?

This is going to sound so boring!  I’ll usually go to dinner with my husband and maybe some friends and then settle in to watch a movie or get caught up on TV.  If it’s a good Saturday night, ice cream will be involved in some way too.

 

What is the craziest thing you have ever done?

In college, I went on a mission trip to Amsterdam to work with women in the sex industry.  I didn’t know anyone else going, but it was a great experience.  I learned a lot about how women get involved in sex trafficking and prostitution, and how hard it can be to get out.  I spent a lot of time in the Red Light District observing and praying for the women.  It was really eye-opening and out of my comfort zone, but it gave me a passion for helping women involved in the industry.  I’m hoping to go on a similar trip to India in the future.

 

According to your own point of view, what is the most important thing in life?

As a Christian, I feel the most important thing is to spread the love of Jesus to everyone I meet.  I try to be a good person and be loving and patient, even when it’s difficult.

 

Which is the word you use more frequently while speaking? What does it mean for you?

I’m sure I use “like” too much, but I also tend to use the word “literally” too much, and definitely in an over exaggerated way.

 

Describe yourself in 10 words:

Dedicated, happy, wife, provider, Christian, excitable, passionate, loving, multitasker, young.

 

How to contact Savanna:

Websitethepaplatform.com
Facebook: @thepaplatform
Insta: @thepaplatform

 

Read the Italian version here